Honoring Social Justice Leaders Worldwide

Award Selection Process

Award Selection Process

The selection process will be competitive and rigorous. It will involve three stages. First, an invited group of nominators will select an initial pool of viable candidates. Second, the Darnal Award Steering Committee will carefully review the nominations and shortlist five to seven most compelling candidates. Third, a separate Darnal Award Selection Committee will select the awardee, who will be officially announced each year on August 15th, the anniversary of Suvash Darnal’s birth.

The Darnal Award Steering Committee will outline the vision and objectives of the Award, develop the policies and guidelines for the Award, and select and invite the nominators.



Around 50 individuals comprising reputed scholars, intellectuals, leaders and activists from diverse backgrounds from within and outside of Nepal will nominate up to two candidates each year. The Darnal Award Steering Committee will invite the nominators to serve for a period of five years. In order to broaden the pool of viable nominees, the nominators may be requested to submit nominations for only three out of the five years. The names of the nominators will be revealed two weeks after the Darnal Award Steering Committee receives the list of nominees. Self-nominations will not be taken into consideration.

Nominees can be individuals, organizations, or movements:

  • Individuals: activists, academics/scholars/researchers, media professionals, writers, artists, singers/music composers, policymakers, political leaders, entrepreneurs and community leaders.
  • Organizations: governmental or non-governmental, or community-based organizations.
  • Movements for social justice: Movements dedicated to strengthening democracy and civil rights, particularly for historically marginalized groups.
  • The Award will be open to all irrespective of caste, ethnicity, class, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, or nationality. However, in the early years of the award, preference will be given to women and young persons (below 40 years) from the Dalit community of Nepal.

Relevant information about the selection process, nominators, and the Darnal Award Selection Committee will be made public at different stages of the award program. Members of the Darnal Award Steering Committee are as follows:

  • Sarita Pariyar, Trustee of Sarita Pariyar Trust Fund (SPTF), Board Member of Samata Foundation, and the wife of late Suvash Darnal
  • Rem Bahadur B. K. Tomata, President of Jagaran Media Center
  • Padam Sundas, President of Samata Foundation
  • Binod Pahadi, Advisor to Jagaran Media Center and a former member of Constituent Assembly
  • Krishna B. Bhattachan (PhD), Tribhuvan University
  • Sumitra Manadhar Gurung (PhD), Board Member of Samata Foundation and President of Mahila Sahayatra Microfinance Bittiya Sanstha
  • Ashok K. Gurung, Sr. Director of India China Institute, Professor of Practice at the New School, and Trustee of SPTF

Photo: Saptari, Nepal. Bhola Paswan, 2011

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Darnal Award Nominators (2016)

Learn more about the many individuals involved in selecting the Darnal Award for Social Justice final awardee.

हाम्रा कथाहरु : पिपुल्स आर्काइभ प्रोजेक्ट.
थप अध्ययनका लागि

Inspiring stories from and about people.
Click to learn more...

सामाजिक न्याय.
थप अध्ययनका लागि
Learn more about social justice.
Click here...

Darnal Award for Social Justice - DASJले Dalit Human Rights Portalको किन लेख्ने दलित युवाले ? साझा गर्नुभयो। ... See MoreSee Less

"तपाइँले चिया खाएको गिलास माझ्नु पर्ने ठाउँमा गिलास फोड्नुहुन्छ भने त्यो पनि दलित आन्दोलन हो । तपाइले गरेका विद्रोहहरु पनि लेखिनु पर्छ । हाम्रो इतिहास हामीले नै लेख्नुपर्छ ।" किन लेख्ने दलित युवाले ? #Padamsundas

View on Facebook

Darnal Award Mailing List

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Skip to toolbar